A WHOOOLE NEW WOOOORLD

I haven’t updated in quite a while, but like an embarrassing memory from middle school, I’m back just when you thought I was gone for good.

So what’s happened since I last posted? Well, back in April I graduated Magna Cum Laude from George Fox University (it’s OK, I’m not bragging, because I’ll also tell you that I still live with my parents). Leaving college behind has been a hard experience. Although it’s getting better, I’ve felt adrift without the constant activity: the sense that you’re in the middle of things, surrounded by people and ideas, friends and acquaintances all growing and sharing and talking. I’ve gone from living in a house with six other guys to living in a house with my parents and a cat. I’ve gone from being almost constantly busy to being pretty much left to my own devices to find work to do. It hasn’t been an easy transition.

And so what am I doing now? To be honest, I’m not entirely sure. After a summer of hemming and hawing, of nervous speculation about the future and worry that I’m not going anywhere, I’m not doing anything, I’m nOT GOING TO AMOUNT TO ANYTHING OH NO I’M GOING TO LIVE IN MY PARENTS’ HOUSE FOREVER WHY CAN’T I FIND A JOB, I’ve finally come to the conclusion that I need to slow down and take things one step at a time. This is a hard transition, and I should try to forgive myself if it takes a while. After all, its been 17 years since I wasn’t in school (Funnily enough, things seem to move in cycles – the last time I wasn’t in school, people were looking forward to new Star Wars movies).

So why am I writing this blog post? Well, along with the decision to take things one step at a time, I’ve also decided to focus on this whole “writing” thing. Starting this Friday, expect regular updates. I’ve also got some potential things in the works right now, but I’ll wait to post about those until things are more developed.

Until next time,

 

John

Leave a Reply

